Without a past there is no future
Music of Time. Played by Donetsk city.
 

This mineral will be very useful, if not for us, for our descendants for sure
Peter the First

 

While wandering down the streets of Lvov or Kiev, spirit of the history is felt And in Donetsk it is felt like this is a progressive, interesting, but a young city those guests having the similar perception of the miners capital are on the wrong way in their searching. In order to HEAR the history of our land. Indeed, in order to hear the music of its history, ones journey should be started not from the Artema street burning with modern lights, but from the virgin wild Donetsk steppe. Fortunately, such places remained intact in our natural reserves. Close you eyes, and keeping your ears open for the sounds blown by the steppe wind, you will hear, together with grass rustling, the grasshoppers violins, songs of the steppe birds, a clear metal rhythmic sound this is the first Donetsk man sharpening his bronze knife. And this isnt a phantom of admiring imagination. In 1959, two ancient old tombs were found in the territory of our city. One of them, discovered in the Radishcheva street in Petrovskiy district of Donetsk city, is dated back to the early bronze age.  Another one, in Kievskiy district of Donetsk city, in the territory of the Central mine rescue-station, - to the later half of the third century A. C. Here is a young city, more specifically, an ever-young  one!  
 

Before the Welsh industrialist John Hughes in the territories of modern Donetsk, our lands are commonly supposed to be the Wild Field. Now listen carefully. Can you hear this continuous wild patter of hoofs? One can hardly imagine those hoofbeats endured by this land. This field has always been wild, but not for its shape, but for its contents.       
 

In the valley of the Kalmius river, where Donetsk is located, some nomadic tribes were changed by the others: the Cimmerian, the Scythians, the Sarmatians, the Goths, the Slavs They were the ones who awarded the river with its name: according to one theory, Kalmius is translated as the nomadic river. But there is also another one. The first part of the word may be attributed to the Turkic word kal gold. For Donetsk land is also rich for many minerals and natural resources, its land is full of almost all chemical elements of the Mendeleev's table, including gold and other precious metals.
 

In those days people already understood that the steppe riches are hidden in the entrails of the earth. Probably, together with cattle breeding and farming agriculture, they would come to coal mining much earlier But can you hear this harsh restless cracking? The steppe is burning!

 
1..2..3..4..5..6..7

Без прошлого нет будущего
Музыка Времени. Исполняет город  Донецк.
 
 «Сей минерал, если не нам, то нашим потомкам зело полезен будет».
Петр I
 
«Когда гуляешь улочками Львова или Киева, ощущаешь дух истории…  А в Донецке чувствуется, что это перспективный, интересный, но … молодой город…» - гости, так воспринимающие шахтерскую столицу, не там ищут.  Для того чтобы УСЛЫШАТЬ историю нашего края, да-да, именно услышать  музыку его истории, нужно начинать свое путешествие не с горящей огнями современности улицы Артема, а с нетронутой дикой донецкой степи. К счастью, такие места сохранились в наших заповедниках.  Закрыв глаза, прислушавшись к звукам, несомым степным ветром, вы услышите, кроме шелеста высокой травы, скрипок кузнечиков,  песен степных птиц, четкий металлический ритмичный звук – это  точит  свой бронзовый нож «первый дончанин». И это не плод восхищенной  фантазии.  В 1959 году на территории нашего города были найдены два древних захоронения. Одно, найденное на улице Радищева в Петровском районе г. Донецка,  датируется началом бронзового века. Другое, в Киевском районе г. Донецка, на территории Центральной горноспасательной станции, -  второй половиной третьего тысячелетия до нашей эры. Вот вам и молодой город, а точнее сказать, вечно молодой!  
 
До появления на территориях современного Донецка валлийского промышленника Джона Юза наши земли принято считать Диким полем.  Вот сейчас прислушайтесь внимательно. Слышите беспрерывный необузданный топот, невозможно представить себе, сколько выдержала эта земля ударов  копыт. Это поле всегда было диким, но не по форме, а по содержанию.
 
В долине реки Кальмиус, в которой находится и Донецк, одни за другими проживали кочевые племена:  киммерийцы, скифы, сарматы, готы, славяне… Они-то и наградили реку названием: по одной из версий Кальмиус в переводе означает «кочевая река». Но есть и другая версия. Первую часть слова можно отнести к тюркскому слову «каль» — «золото». Ведь донецкий край богат многими минералами и полезными ископаемыми, его земля содержит почти все химические элементы таблицы Менделеева, в том числе золото и другие драгоценные металлы.
 
Уже в те времена люди понимали, что богатство степей спрятано в недрах земли. И, может быть, наряду со скотоводством и земледелием, к поискам угля пришли бы гораздо раньше … Но слышите этот неприятный тревожный треск? Это горит степь! 
 
1..2..3..4..5..6..7
 версия для печати